MullenLowe Group dominates at the 2016 APAC Tambuli Awards winning Network of the Year + Agency of the Year gong for their India office

Tambuli_agency of the year.jpgTambuli_netwok of the year.jpgLast night saw the MullenLowe Group crowned Network of the Year at the APAC Tambuli awards ceremony held at the Grand Ballroom of the New World Hotel in Manila.

It was a great night for the network with MullenLowe Lintas Group India picking up the Agency of the Year award and were also honoured with a Grand Prix award for Unilever's Lifebuoy "Future Child" campaign. The agency also won a 4 golds, 4 silvers, and 5 bronze metals in the various categories.

As a result Unilever India emerged as the Advertiser of the Year.

MullenLowe Vietnam also collected a Gold for Unilever's "OMO Gallery of Dreams".

BBDO Pakistan were also a top performer - awarded a Grand Prix for Moltyfoam's "The World's First Billbed" in the Outdoor category.

BBDO Pakistan also won two Gold awards one for Moltyfoam's "The World's First Billbed" and the other for Reprieve/Foundation for Fundamental Rights' "Not a Bug Splat".

BBH Asia Pacific Singapore also won a Gold for the emotional NTUC Income's "Last Day of School".

Tambuli_ChiefMarketer.jpgTambuli_lifetimeAward.jpgMs. Gina Lorenzana, Vice President for Personal Care, Unilever Philippines, was named the 2016 Chief Marketing Communications Officer of the Year (Lorenzana is pictured holding her award on left).

For the Tambuli Awards' tenth year anniversary celebration, two inaugural special awards were given out.

The Tambuli Lifetime Achievement Award was conferred on Jayjay Calero, past Chairman and CEO of J. Walter Thompson Philippines. Calero's more than 30-year career at J. Walter Thompson includes eight years as Chairman, fifteen years as President, and seven years as Regional Director International Vice President for Sri Lanka, Malaysia, Indonesia, Singapore and the Philippines. The Tambuli Lifetime Achievement Award is given to an outstanding, highly respected, and accomplished leader in the marketing communications industry for at least 25 years, and known to uphold and believe in the mission and core values of the APAC Tambuli Awards (He is pictured above left on stage with his award).

Tambuli_Ramon Jimenez.jpgThe other special award given on its tenth anniversary is the Tambuli Crimson. It is an award on leadership for good, honoring an eminent industry leader in marketing communications for his or her contribution to the advancement of the profession, while creating positive change and impact in one's country, region, or the world. This year's awardees were Ramon Jimenez, Tourism Secretary of the Republic of the Philippines (pictured right on stage with his award), and Angel Guerrero, Founder, Publisher & Editor-in-Chief, Adobo Magazine.

Jimenez was acknowledged for his valuable contribution as Secretary of Tourism of the Republic of the Philippines, in promoting the Philippines globally through the excellent use of marketing communications, showcasing the beauty and treasures of the Philippine islands and its people. And for his exemplary achievements in Philippine advertising, notably through the eponymous ad agency he and his wife Abby co-founded - now known as Publicis JimenezBasic - which advocates authentic Filipino advertising in steering brands to success.

Tambuli_AngelGuerrero.jpgAngel Guerrero (pictured right on stage with her award) was honoured in recognition of the success of Adobo Magazine as a major catalyst in bringing Philippine advertising and the Filipino creativity into the regional and global stage. Through its excellent and incisive reportage of local and regional industry trends, news and events, Adobo has made the Filipino's creative prowess and ingenuity more palpable across the international scene.

The Asia-Pacific Tambuli Awards is organized by the School of Communication of the University of Asia and the Pacific (UA&P) based in Manila.

The Asia Pacific Tambuli Awards 2016 Overall Executive Jury was headed by Charles Cadell, Asia Pacific President McCann Worldgroup. The jury included Jacques Reber, Chairman & CEO Nestlé Philippines; Diego Granizo, President Coca Cola Philippines; Stephen Lau, GM Colgate Palmolive Philippines; Pam Takai, Asia Pacific Marketing Director Mondelez; Cheuk Chiang, CEO APAC OMD; Anne Rayner, TNS Global Head Comm Research; Dick Van Motman, CEO SEA Dentsu Aegis; Kim Shaw, Publisher, Campaign Brief Asia; Tom Doctoroff, CEO APAC J. Walter Thompson; and Sandy Prieto-Romualdez, CEO Inquirer.

The creative judging panel was headed by Jury President David Guerrero, Creative Chairman BBDO Guerrero with jury members Andy Greenaway SapientNitro Chief Creative Officer Asia Pacific; Norman Tan, North Asia Chief Creative Officer JWT and China Chairman; John Merrifield, Chief Creative Officer Google Asia Pacific; Sompat Trisadikun, Chief Creative Officer Leo Burnett Thailand; Aste Gutierrez, BBH Asia Pacific Regional Creative Director for Nike; and Brandie Tan, Executive Creative Director, PublicisJimenez Basic Manila.


Tambuli_unilever and lowe.jpg

Leave a comment

About Campaign Brief Asia

A blog for advertising creatives in Asia. To pass on news or advertise on the CB Asia blog, or to subscribe to Campaign Brief Asia or Campaign Brief Australia/NZ magazines, or The Work 09 Annual, email: Kim or Michael

Latest jobs

Retrieving latest jobs

House rules for commenting

Here are the ground rules for posting comments on stories: This site is a moderated blog. Comments that are seen to be more abusive than witty and/or constructive will not be posted. Obviously, we do not allow 'hate speech' or comments that are seen as a personal attack, defamatory, degrading or prejudicial to an individual or company. Overly abusive language also adds nothing to any discussion and will not be published. On occasions we will be asking people to contribute work, opinions and views on various topics - you are free to disagree, so long as you observe the above rules and remain constructive.